Low Budget EDC.

During the Christmas shopping rush I had noticed a couple of interesting items in my local Walmart Sporting goods section. They were selling what seemed to be decent looking folding pocket knives and multi tools using their Ozark Trail brand for under $5 each. Knowing that I was going to be gone for a month long training event in January, I took the plunge and decided that I was going to test these items out and review them upon my return.

IMG_3192

The Knife:

Measuring out at 4″ folded and just over 7″ unfolded this little knife has become my new favorite EDC knife. The factory edge is nice and sharp and quickly cut through 550 cord and MRE packaging. Many of the soldiers that I was training with liked the look and utility of the knife. Most asked where I got it and how much it cost. Since I got back from the training event, I have not been able to check to see if Walmart still has some, but if they do I see myself picking up a couple more.

The blade opens quickly and locks very well. The handle material feels good in the hand and is pleasing to the eye. My only complaint is the rather flimsy seeming pocket clip, but, I have owned more expensive knives that had problems with their pocket clips as well. Honestly, this knife is worth more like $10 or more. I do recommend this knife.

 

IMG_3215

The Multi Tool:

This tool was not as impressive. It felt cheap and none of the tools or blades locked into place. When guys would borrow it to use I would warn them of that fact. The blades were no where near as sharp as the with the knife. The file was the only thing I used with any regularity. If you are looking for a cheap multi tool to throw into a bug out bag and forget about, then this would fit your bill. However, I really cannot recommend this multi tool at all.

 

Clayton Shackelford

IMG_1189

Leave a Reply

